Userfication is the process by which material that was posted in one namespace is moved into the user namespace (prefix User:)

Userfication is the process by which material that was posted in one namespace is moved into the user namespace (prefix User:). Generally, material is moved from the article, Wikipedia/project, or template namespace to a subpage of the user that originally posted the material. Such material (pages) is moved because it is not ready to be seen by the public (articles), used on other pages (templates), or (least common) put out as guidance to the community ("Wikipedia:" prefix pages). But the material is worth keeping because it has potential to be useful at some point — it just needs more work, or more time.This page contains guidelines for when and how to userfy material. For help on moving pages, see Help:Moving a page. For help getting a copy of a deleted article, to put into your userspace, see Category:Wikipedia administrators willing to provide copies of deleted articles, or post at Wikipedia:Requests for undeletion.For articles, an alternative to userfication is the draft space. Like userfication, draft space allows editors the opportunity to work on sub-par articles outside of the main article namespace. Draft space, however, may increase the chance of collaboration by placing draft articles in a central location. Another advantage is that incubated articles are automatically "noindexed", meaning they won't show up in search engines.Userfication is usually performed because material is added in article space that is inappropriate for inclusion in an encyclopedia, but not objectionable as content in a user page or a subpage thereof. This can be a satisfactory result for new users unfamiliar with the boundaries of Wikipedia content, and for users who inadvertently create personal templates in the main template space.In some cases, a new user will inadvertently create an article in article namespace that appears to be content meant to be in a user page. Generally, such material should be moved to a user subpage with a note placed on that user's talk page informing them of the move. If such an article is made, it is appropriate to move the article to the creator's user page, provided that (1) their user page doesn't already exist, and (2) they are the only editor who has edited the content of the page.It may also be appropriate to move an article that only you have edited into your user space somewhere. If others have edited it, consider a cut and paste move instead of a page move, as the edit history may be more important than the original article.Userspace material is frequently deleted via Wikipedia:Miscellany for deletion where the material is judged to be merely an archive of previously deleted content. Regarding biographies (including autobiographies), the policy Wikipedia:Biographies of living persons may preclude userfication. The fact that an editor initially chose to userfy content rather than delete it does not in any way prohibit a later editor from nominating that content for deletion.Userboxes posted in template namespace are controversial, since templates generally have wide range applicability and point of view, extra-wiki affiliation, and other userboxes have uses limited to only some Wikipedians. The outright userfying of userboxes was rejected in April 2006. However, the non-policy userbox migration solution suggests moving the userboxes in question to user space. If only one editor makes use of a userbox, consider moving that userbox to a sub userpage of that user, redirecting any "What links here" links, and listing the now redirected template page for speedy deletion under {{db-r3}}. If more than one editor makes use of a userbox, consider moving that userbox to a user subpage of User:UBX, redirecting any "What links here" links, and listing the now redirected template page for speedy deletion under {{db-r3}}. In either situation, post a note on the userbox creator's talk page informing them of the move.In general, the source page may be moved to a target user subpage, the "What links here" links for the source page manually may be redirected, any resulting redirect on the source page may be listed for speedy deletion under {{db-r2}}, and a note may be placed on the user's talk page informing them of the move details.No purpose is served by userfying materials that duplicate content already in the contributor's user space. Such materials should be deleted with a note to the contributor.Regardless of the target location, the following steps need to be carried out on the userfied page:In order to properly userfy an article, an editor must have access to the "move" function. Thus only registered users will be able to take the necessary steps to userfy a page. Copy–paste moves are generally prohibited by policy (but see instructions below for unusual cases), because they fail to retain the edit history of the content, so userfication must be done via the move function. To do so, go to the page, click the "move" button, and enter the receiving party's username followed by a slash before the original pagename, like so:The user for whom such a subpage is created should be notified of this event on their talk page, as the creation of a user subpage does not appear on a watchlist (unless the page that was moved was being watched).In some cases an article describes a certain contributor, such as when he or she accidentally places a personal profile in article space. In these cases the following can be done:If text is copied to user space, rather than moved via the page move tool, a list of all the contributors to the original text (obtained from the page history of the original page) must be kept to meet the requirements of the CC BY-SA and GFDL. If the original content has been modified by other users, and is later moved or copied to another namespace, the list of contributors should be copied to the corresponding talk page. The userfying editor can also simply search the article history for the last version which had only been edited by the person whose space the article is to be moved to, and cut and paste only that text.Administrators can undelete a deleted page and move it into a user's userspace, without creating a redirect; this results in a page in userspace with all the history intact and a red link in main space. This can be requested from requests for undeletion, or alternatively from any administrator or via Deletion Review. There is also a list of administrators who say that they are willing to provide deleted content on an editor's request.Pages that would clearly fail the criteria for speedy deletion may or may not be userfied on request, depending on the administrator's judgment. In addition, content inappropriate for the mainspace should not be kept indefinitely in user space, per Wikipedia policy regarding the third disallowed use of subpages. Pages in userspace (including those that have been userfied) may be nominated for deletion through Wikipedia:Miscellany for Deletion.The administrator who userfies a deleted page may subsequently reverse their action and delete it again, at their own discretion. The administrator might do this if, for example, an intention to improve the page is not carried out.